Pick the hub that matches your MacBook’s display limit before anything else: a base-chip MacBook can only drive one external screen, so a single 4K60 HDMI hub is enough and a dual-monitor dock may only mirror. Pick the dock if you want Ethernet, an SD card slot and 100W pass-through on one cable. Ten UGREEN listings are compared below by what each title states, plus a port-budget worked example that checks power and bandwidth before you buy.
Top picks at a glance
| Model (from title) | Class | Display support in title | Pass-through | Price tier |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Steam Deck Dock 6-in-1 | Handheld dock | 4K@120Hz HDMI 2.1 | 100W PD | Mid |
| 11-in-1 USB4 Docking Station | USB4 dock | Dual monitor, 4K@120Hz | 115W, no charger | Premium |
| 13-in-1 Thunderbolt 4 Dock (Revodok Max 213) | Thunderbolt 4 | Dual 4K@60Hz, single 8K@30Hz | 90W host | Premium |
| Maxidok Thunderbolt 5 Dock | Thunderbolt 5 | Triple 4K@60Hz | 140W PD | Premium |
| Revodok 6-in-1 Hub | Hub | 4K HDMI | Not stated | Budget |
| Revodock Pro 11-in-1 Dock | Dock | Dual 4K@60Hz, macOS mirrors only | 100W PD | Mid to premium |
| Uno 6-in-1 Hub | Hub | 4K@60Hz HDMI | Not stated | Budget to mid |
| Laptop Docking Station stand | Stand with hub | 4K HDMI | Not stated | Budget to mid |
| Revodok Pro 6-in-1 Hub | Hub with Ethernet | 4K@60Hz HDMI | 100W PD | Mid |
| Revodok Pro 8-in-1 Hub | Hub | 4K@60Hz HDMI | 100W PD | Mid |
How this list was built
The list uses published specifications, manufacturer documentation and buyer reviews. Nobody on the team used or measured these units. Titles are seller claims, and any wording that does not clearly say what a port does is marked “check the listing”. Two listings are off-class for a MacBook buyer and are labeled as such: a handheld-gaming dock and a laptop stand that carries a small hub.
The ten listings
UGREEN Steam Deck Dock 6-in-1, 4K@120Hz HDMI 2.1
This is a handheld-gaming dock first and a MacBook accessory second. The title lists 4K@120Hz over HDMI 2.1, 100W PD, USB-A and USB-C 3.0 ports and Gigabit Ethernet, and names Steam Deck, ROG Ally and Legion Go next to MacBook. Whether a given MacBook gets 4K@120Hz depends on its port and chip, so check Apple’s specifications.
It makes sense if you own a handheld and a MacBook and want one dock for both. If you only own a MacBook, a dock without the handheld styling may serve you better. Check the listing for the form factor and the USB speeds.
Scenario: a living-room TV with HDMI 2.1 that the handheld uses on weekends and the MacBook uses on workdays. One dock, one cable swap. A question to ask before buying: does my display accept 4K at 120Hz over HDMI 2.1, and does my MacBook’s port output it? The dock is only half of that chain, so check the Mac and the TV before paying for the label.
- Pros: HDMI 2.1 4K@120Hz label; 100W PD; Gigabit Ethernet; works across handhelds and laptops
- Cons: shaped for handhelds; only Gigabit; high-refresh results depend on the MacBook
UGREEN 11-in-1 USB4 Docking Station, dual monitor 4K@120Hz
The title lists USB4 20Gbps, HDMI, 2.5GbE, four USB-A and C ports, SD and TF readers, audio, 115W charging and a C-to-DP cable, and says it is compatible with Thunderbolt 4 laptops. It also says “No Charger”, so the wall adapter is not included. That is a high-end desk dock with serious pass-through wattage.
A question to ask before buying: does my MacBook’s chip support two external displays? The dock may advertise dual monitors, but a base-chip MacBook cannot drive them. Also check the listing for how the 4K@120Hz line applies when two screens are connected.
Scenario: a permanent desk with a high-refresh monitor, a wired network and a USB4 or Thunderbolt 4 laptop port. In that case the dock turns one cable into a full workstation. A question to ask before buying: do I already own a 100W-plus charger, since none is included? Add the cost of a suitable adapter to the dock before comparing it with bundled alternatives.
- Pros: 115W pass-through; 2.5GbE; USB4 20Gbps; SD and TF readers
- Cons: charger not included; dual-monitor value depends on the MacBook; premium tier
UGREEN 13-in-1 Thunderbolt 4 Docking Station (Revodok Max 213)
Three Thunderbolt 4 ports at 40Gbps, 2.5G Ethernet, dual 4K@60Hz or single 8K@30Hz, 90W host charging and an SD/TF 4.0 reader at 312MB/s. The title calls it a Thunderbolt 4 dock for MacBook and Windows laptops, which makes it the broadly compatible desk-hub option.
The 90W host charging is worth comparing with your charger. A MacBook Pro that ships with a larger adapter may charge more slowly, and a MacBook Air will be fine. The three Thunderbolt ports are a plus if you also run fast external SSDs or a Thunderbolt display.
Scenario: a desk with a fast external SSD on one Thunderbolt port, a Thunderbolt-capable monitor on another and wired networking all at once. The title’s SD/TF 4.0 line is another reason it appeals to photographers. A question to ask before buying: how many of the three Thunderbolt 4 ports will I use, and does the 90W charging match my laptop’s charger? If not, a lower tier may cost less.
- Pros: three Thunderbolt 4 ports; 2.5G Ethernet; 312MB/s SD reader claim
- Cons: 90W may fall short for large MacBook Pro chargers; dual-display depends on the Mac; premium
UGREEN Maxidok Thunderbolt 5 Docking Station, triple 4K@60Hz
The top-end listing: four Thunderbolt 5 ports, three 10Gbps USB-A and C ports, two 5G USB-A ports, 140W PD, single 8K or dual 6K output, 2.5GbE, SD/TF at 312MB/s, 3.5mm audio and a power adapter with US, EU and UK plugs. It is a desk dock for people who have a Thunderbolt 5 Mac or plan to buy one.
The 140W figure matches large laptop chargers. A MacBook without Thunderbolt 5 may fall back to lower Thunderbolt or USB speeds, and triple display needs a Mac that supports it. Check Apple’s specifications, because the dock cannot unlock what the chip lacks.
Scenario: a creator with a Thunderbolt 5 laptop, several drives and multiple displays who wants everything behind one cable. A question to ask before buying: does my Mac actually have a Thunderbolt 5 port? On older hardware, many of the premium features go unused, and you would be paying for ports you cannot fill. Check the listing for the multi-display modes it supports.
- Pros: 140W PD; four Thunderbolt 5 ports; many 10Gbps USB ports; multi-region plug set
- Cons: premium; wasted on a base-chip MacBook; triple displays need support from the Mac
UGREEN Revodok 6-in-1 USB-C Hub, 4K HDMI, 3 USB 3.0, SD/TF
A small travel dongle. Six ports, 4K HDMI (the title does not state the refresh rate), three USB 3.0 ports and an SD/TF reader, with MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, iPad and iPhone named for compatibility. It is the most portable pick here and the least powerful, because pass-through charging is not mentioned.
That missing detail is the main question: with this one, the laptop’s USB-C port that the hub occupies cannot also accept power unless the listing says otherwise. It is a hub for a quick presentation or a photo import, not a permanent desk.
Scenario: a coffee-shop presentation, or a quick photo import from a camera card. A question to ask before buying: will I ever need to charge the MacBook while this is connected? If yes, look at the Pro models with 100W PD instead. Check the listing for the HDMI refresh rate, since the title only says 4K.
- Pros: small; 4K HDMI; SD/TF reader; iPad compatible
- Cons: no pass-through charging in the title; refresh rate not stated; USB 3.0 ports share bandwidth
UGREEN Revodock Pro 11-in-1 Dock, HDMI and DisplayPort, macOS mirrors only
The title includes dual 4K@60Hz outputs, two 10Gbps USB-C ports, two USB-A ports, 100W PD, SD/TF 3.0, 1G Ethernet and audio, and states directly “macOS Mirrors Only”. That is the honest label for Mac buyers: the two outputs mirror rather than extend on macOS. If you need two independent displays, this is not the dock.
It still makes sense for a presenter who wants mirrored output to a projector plus a monitor, or for someone who only wants one active external screen with plenty of ports. A question to ask before buying: do I need extended desktops? If yes, skip it.
Scenario: a conference room where one laptop feeds a monitor and a projector with identical content. For that job, mirroring is exactly what you want, and the 100W pass-through keeps the MacBook charged during a long session. A question to ask before buying: am I sure I do not need an extended desktop? If there is doubt, avoid this model.
- Pros: 100W PD; two 10Gbps USB-C; honest macOS note; 1G Ethernet
- Cons: mirroring only on macOS; Gigabit Ethernet; more cables than a hub
UGREEN Uno 6-in-1 USB-C Hub, 10Gbps data, 4K@60Hz HDMI
The title gives 10Gbps data, 4K@60Hz HDMI and six ports, and names MacBook, iPad Pro, Surface, XPS and Thinkpad. The 4K@60Hz label is clear, which the older six-in-one hub lacks. It is a compact hub for people who need a fast external SSD port and a 4K60 monitor.
Pass-through wattage and card readers are not described in the title, so check the listing for whether it passes power and which readers it includes. If a card slot is your reason for buying, this may not be the right model.
Scenario: a MacBook Air user with a 4K monitor and an external SSD, who does not need Ethernet or an SD card. The compact hub covers that setup without desk clutter. A question to ask before buying: does the model I am looking at include a pass-through port? The title does not say, so check the listing to see how charging is handled.
- Pros: 4K@60Hz is explicit; 10Gbps data; compact
- Cons: PD pass-through not stated; SD reader not stated; six ports only
UGREEN USB-C Laptop Docking Station, adjustable foldable stand
An off-type entry for most MacBook buyers. The product is a four-level adjustable foldable stand with a built-in hub: 4K HDMI, TF/SD and two USB 3.0 ports. It raises the laptop and adds basic ports, but the title mentions neither pass-through wattage nor the HDMI refresh rate.
It is a posture and desk-tidy product. If your MacBook already sits on a stand, a hub-only listing is simpler and usually more capable. Check the listing for the cable length and how the laptop port connects.
Scenario: a desk where posture matters, with the laptop raised to eye level and a small port set built in. A question to ask before buying: does the stand fit my laptop’s size and leave airflow underneath? Check the listing for supported laptop sizes, and compare it with a separate stand plus a modern hub if you want more ports or pass-through power.
- Pros: stand and ports in one; foldable; SD/TF reader
- Cons: only two USB 3.0 ports; PD not stated; the stand design may block cooling or fit odd laptop sizes
UGREEN Revodok Pro 6-in-1 Hub, Gigabit Ethernet, 4K 60Hz HDMI
The title: Gigabit Ethernet, 4K 60Hz HDMI, 100W PD, 10Gbps USB-A and C 3.2 data ports, for MacBook Neo, Pro, Air, iPad and Steam Deck. It is the six-port hub that includes Ethernet, which is rare at this size. It does not include an SD reader according to the title.
It suits a person who docks at a desk with wired internet and a single 4K monitor. If you shoot photos and need a card slot, the 8-in-1 listing below covers that.
Scenario: a home office where the router sits beside the desk and Wi-Fi is unreliable. Wired Ethernet plus a 4K60 monitor plus 100W pass-through covers most work needs from one hub. A question to ask before buying: do I need 2.5G Ethernet? This title says Gigabit, so a 2.5G dock from the larger listings is the better fit for fast local network storage.
- Pros: Gigabit Ethernet; 100W PD; 10Gbps ports; 4K@60Hz
- Cons: no SD slot named in the title; one display only
UGREEN Revodok Pro 8-in-1 Hub, 4K 60Hz HDMI, SD/TF
The 8-in-1 hub adds SD and TF readers to 4K@60Hz HDMI, 10Gbps USB-C and A data ports, and 100W PD. Compared with the 6-in-1 Pro hub, the title swaps Ethernet for a card reader and two more ports. If you travel with a camera, this is the more likely match.
The title does not mention Ethernet, so wired internet requires a different model. Check the listing for the exact port counts and the card reader speed class.
Scenario: a photographer or student who shoots on a camera card, edits on the MacBook and charges from the hub at the same desk. A question to ask before buying: how fast is the card slot? The title gives no speed figure, unlike the Thunderbolt 4 listing, so check the listing if your cards are high-speed ones.
- Pros: SD and TF readers; 100W PD; 4K@60Hz; 10Gbps data
- Cons: no Ethernet in the title; hub-level display support only; card speed not stated
Which hub for which MacBook user
| You are | Look for | Listing to check |
|---|---|---|
| Traveler with a MacBook Air | Small hub, 4K HDMI, SD/TF | Revodok 6-in-1 or Revodok Pro 8-in-1 |
| Photographer | SD/TF at 312MB/s or SD 3.0 | Thunderbolt 4 dock or Revodok Pro 8-in-1 |
| Desk worker with wired internet | Ethernet and 100W PD | Revodok Pro 6-in-1 |
| Thunderbolt 5 Mac owner | 140W PD and many TBT ports | Maxidok |
| Presenter with a projector | Mirroring over HDMI and DP | Revodock Pro 11-in-1 |
| Handheld owner who also has a MacBook | HDMI 2.1 and 100W PD | Steam Deck Dock |
How to choose a hub for a MacBook
Check the display limit first
Base M1 and M2 MacBooks natively support one external display, and a hub cannot change that. Newer and higher-end chips support more, and Apple’s technical specifications list the exact limits. MST (multi-stream transport) docks that advertise dual monitors may only mirror on macOS, which is why one title here states “macOS Mirrors Only”. Do not buy a dual-display dock until you have confirmed what your Mac allows.
HDMI 4K60 and cable quality
4K at 60Hz needs enough bandwidth on the USB-C port and an HDMI cable and monitor that support it. If the monitor or cable only supports a lower HDMI mode, you get 30Hz and a laggy cursor. Check the monitor’s manual for the HDMI version and use the cable the monitor recommends.
Thunderbolt versus USB-C
Thunderbolt docks offer more bandwidth and multiple high-speed ports. USB-C and USB4 hubs offer fewer, cheaper options. If you do not plan to use a Thunderbolt display or fast SSD arrays, a standard hub with 100W pass-through covers most daily use.
| Spec concept | What to look for | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Display support | Your Mac’s limit, not the dock’s label | The Mac chip decides how many screens work |
| Pass-through wattage | Close to your charger’s rating | Under-powered docks charge slowly under load |
| Card reader | SD/TF with a stated speed | Photo imports depend on this |
| Thunderbolt versus USB | TBT ports for fast SSDs and displays | Bandwidth differences are large |
| Ethernet speed | 1G, 2.5G | Wired transfers and video calls |
Worked example: a port-budget check
Assumptions: a MacBook that ships with a 96W charger, an external 4K60 monitor over HDMI, a 1TB external SSD that reads at about 1GB/s (8Gbps), a keyboard, a mouse and a wired network connection. The first check is power. A 100W hub passes at most 100W in; the hub itself uses some, so the laptop may receive less than 96W under heavy load. A 115W or 140W dock leaves more headroom; a 90W one would charge a 96W-class laptop more slowly.
The second check is bandwidth. A 10Gbps port can carry the SSD at about 8Gbps, but if the hub shares that link with the card reader and the Ethernet port, the transfer will slow when they are busy. Keep the SSD on its own 10Gbps port, keep the card reader idle during large copies and use the hub’s Ethernet only when needed. The third check is the display: confirm your Mac supports the monitor’s resolution and refresh rate over its port.
| Item | Assumed load | Hub check |
|---|---|---|
| Laptop charging | 96W charger | 100W or more pass-through |
| 4K60 monitor | HDMI | 4K@60Hz in the title |
| External SSD | About 8Gbps read | 10Gbps USB port, not shared |
| Wired network | Gigabit or 2.5G | Ethernet in the title |
| Keyboard and mouse | Negligible | Any USB 3.0 port |
Mistakes buyers make
| Mistake | What happens | Fix |
|---|---|---|
| Buying a dual-monitor dock for a base-chip MacBook | Only one screen, or mirrored screens | Check Apple’s display limits first |
| Skipping the “No Charger” line | No power adapter in the box | Read the whole title |
| Using any HDMI cable for 4K60 | Falls back to 30Hz | Use a cable rated for your monitor |
| Putting every device on one hub link | Slow transfers | Spread heavy devices across ports |
| Buying a handheld dock or stand by mistake | Wrong product class | Check the product type in the title |
Related guides
- Magsafe Car Mounts For Iphone Dashboard And Vent
- When To Replace Iphone Battery Health Thresholds
- Fitbit Vs Apple Watch For Tracking Sleep
Frequently asked questions
Can a UGREEN hub drive two monitors from a base M1 or M2 MacBook?
Base M1 and M2 MacBooks natively support a single external display, and a hub or dock cannot add outputs the chip does not have. Docks that advertise dual monitors may only mirror on macOS, and one title here says “macOS Mirrors Only”. If you need extended dual displays on a base chip, look into DisplayLink-style solutions and confirm the support details on the listing.
What pass-through wattage do I need for a MacBook?
Look at the charger that shipped with your MacBook and match or slightly undershoot it. The hubs here list 90W, 100W, 115W or 140W pass-through. A hub also uses some power itself, so a 100W hub with a 96W charger is a tight fit during heavy loads. If a hub says “No Charger”, you must supply your own power adapter.
Is a Thunderbolt dock better than a USB-C hub?
Thunderbolt docks offer more bandwidth, more ports and support for several displays on machines that allow it. They cost more and may be overkill for a MacBook Air with a monitor and a few accessories. A plain USB-C hub with HDMI 4K60, a card reader and pass-through charging covers many travel and desk uses.
Will the SD and microSD readers be fast?
Reader speed depends on the card and the interface. One title states SD/TF 4.0 at 312MB/s, which is a quoted ceiling, and others list SD/TF 3.0 or only SD/TF. Card speed class, file sizes and whether the hub shares bandwidth with other ports all change the result, so treat the numbers as upper limits.
Does 4K@60Hz HDMI work on every MacBook?
Only when the MacBook, the hub and the cable all support it. The titles with 4K@60Hz or higher labels describe the hub’s capability. The MacBook’s port, macOS version and the monitor’s input also have to cooperate, so check the Mac’s technical specifications for its display limits before assuming a given resolution.
Write Your Review
No reviews yet. Be the first to share your experience!